1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Which degree...ME vs IE

Discussion in 'Professional Certifications and Degrees' started by Josh C, Aug 14, 2015.

1. Josh C

Josh C New Member

I've been working in quality (automotive) for the past two years after a forced career change, with the last year as a QE. I'm trying to work towards an engineering degree in order to A) increase my knowledge and B) be able to apply for my same job (or better) in a more preferred location. (Multiple recruiters/HR people have told me I'm out of luck with my current degree, even with the right experience) Right now, the only online programs I am aware of are Lamar University's Industrial Engineering and U North Dakota's Mechanical Engineering.

Anyone with more experience in the field have thoughts on which degree is better for the Quality field / related prospects? Or know of any other program options?

From looking at postings I feel like more places want ME, though I think the IE track may be better suited to the type of tasks I like to work on. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

2. Jennifer Kirley

Jennifer Kirley Moderator Staff Member

My understanding of the fields is that Industrial Engineering is more about plant management and Mechanical Engineering is more product related. So if trajectory in QA is your goal, I would lean toward Industrial Engineering.

3. reynald

reynald Member

Well I'm an Industrial Engineer. I can give you a glimpse of the curriculum but please be aware that this varies much from university to university.

First the core courses which I think would be common for all universities: