1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

A question for all you consultants and contractors out there.

Discussion in 'Job Openings and Employment Opportunities' started by JCIC49, Apr 22, 2016.

1. JCIC49

JCIC49 Member

I have a question, request for advice any thoughts you might have.

I am in the position where I am being made redundant and I am now looking for a new job/challenge!

I have spoken to a range of people, from people I have worked with, to agencies say that you should look at contacting and consultancy work.

I have been working in the RA/QA field on medical devices for over 15 years and in medical devices for nearly 23, I am based in the UK

So my questions is, what experience do people have with this and what pitfalls should I look out for and what positive experiences do people have.

Thanks for your thoughts

Jon

2. RoxaneB

RoxaneB Moderator Staff Member

It really depends on what you wish to offer...there's a big difference between implementing a system and auditing a system. Will you offer both? What about teaching?

Would you join an existing consulting/auditing firm or go out on your own? If you go out on your, there's a lot of paperwork and admin aspects to consider, not to mention finding a way to set yourself apart from all the others out there.

I have no idea what the market is like in the UK for your field...would you stay in the UK or would you to work abroad? Keeping in mind that auditing = short, frequent trips ... whereas consulting = (possibly) longer, fewer trips.

You need to consider what you're willing to accept...no...scratch that...you need to consider which lifestyle you're more passionate about.

JCIC49 likes this.
  3. Ronen E

Ronen E Well-Known Member