1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Starting from first principles

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Ian Banister, Nov 26, 2016.

1. Ian Banister

Ian Banister Member

Hi,
    I'm brand new to the forum and I suppose brand new to ISO9001 as well. I work for a small 100 people engineering service company where I'm a Project Manager. I've been asked to look at implementing ISO9001 2015 as a project and as far as i'm concerned i'm starting from scratch and don't have a formal quality background - I'd say the best alignment I have is risk management and leadership with my skill set as well as good management support.
    I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good book/e-learning course/sources of information that would be a good starter for 10 for me. Many thanks Ian

2. tony s

tony s Well-Known Member

Buying a book to use as reference is cheaper than attending training or hiring a consultant. But doing it yourself exposes your organization to risks like:
    • the recommendations in the book may not readily suit your company's operation;
    • the book cannot answer back if you need to clarify things;
    • people tend to be less involved if being coached by an insider than by an external service provider;
    • unsure of the approach that you will implement, unlike being coached by someone who's "been there, done that";
    • extended time of setting up the QMS due to trial and error or so many ideas that you need to accommodate or to kill;
    • before others buy/adopt your approach, there's a lot of convincing to make.

3. Ian Banister

Ian Banister Member

Hi Tony