1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

ISO 9001, NC’s & B&E

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by nwall1985, Feb 21, 2024.

1. nwall1985

nwall1985 New Member

Help!

I am a newish QA manager seeking advice concerning issues that technically warrant an NC according to ISO 9001.

My organization will occasionally have an internal issue or a customer complaint that has a high effort but low benefit to correct on our end. Addressing some of these issues also cause contention with my team.

Am I required to initiate a CA every time or could I build “exceptions” such as low customer impact, high cost correction, low risk, etc into my policy? If so, I would love some pointers.

To add, some of these issues are on our radar but we have higher priority tasks on our plate at the moment.

Last edited: Feb 21, 2024
  2. MonsterEnergy22

MonsterEnergy22 Member

You don't need to initiate corrective action every time, no. If we did that for every minor non-conformance, we'd never get any where. Fix the immediate issue and move on.

ISO 9001:2015 Clause 10.2.1 b is quite clear regarding the need for corrective action, stating "evaluate the need for action to eliminate the cause(s) of the nonconformity, in order that it does not recur or occur elsewhere."

I think you seem to already have this figured out though, dependant upon the criteria you've mentioned. I'm sure others will have other criteria for you to consider.

You don't really need to document the criteria for escalation to corrective action either, there's no such requirement. It's up to you.

3. yodon

yodon Well-Known Member

These don't seem to line up.