1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

ISO 9001:2015 - Warranty management

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by ifrifr, Jan 10, 2023.

1. ifrifr

ifrifr New Member

Hello!

Newbie here, sorry if I do not use the right words.

I'm working in a small company that is not certified in ISO yet, but it's impacting as some of our customers do have it.

currently I'm tangled in the warranty management process.

1) We make a product, ship to the customer, it's installed and...
    2) during the warranty period fails.
    3) Customer requests to have it checked on site. (the request includes a waiver that we can invoce them if the issue is not covered by the warranty)
    4) We sned our techniciand there and checks the failure, and two things can happen:
    4.1) the failure is covered by the warranty terms. It's repaired at no cost for the customer.
    4.2) the failure is not covered by the warranty terms. and a cost is generated by the visit (warranty terms does not include visiting issues that are not covered by the warranty, imagine...a lighting strike that fries a machine....)
    Here the customer has 2 choices:
    4.2.1 To repair the failure by themselves based on the diagnosis we did on the visit
    4.2.2 Request us to repair it.

My question and doubt is... I think that ISO 9001:2015 states that for every service requested a purchase order must be created. (at least it's what my customer says), BUT they argue that during the warranty period no purchase order should be generated by them as usually those repairs have no cost (so no invoice). The issue is that if 4.2.1 happens, my company should invoice the customer but... they did not create a purchase order number... and here the arguing starts...