1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Calibration Questions

Discussion in 'AS 91XX - Aerospace Quality Standards' started by Roland Deschain, Mar 11, 2024.

1. Roland Deschain

Roland Deschain New Member

Hello. First time posting here, so apologies if this is out of the norm, or not the correct space.

I am a QC tech in a machine shop that has been ISO 9001 certified for about 12 years.

The owner has let everyone know his intention to get AS9100 certified, but we have trouble following the 9001 standards as it is.

We do not have any thread gages in our calibration system. They are all marked as reference only, even the ones used for final inspection.

The owner is now asking the QC Manager to calibrate our master gage blocks and rings using our CMM, instead of sending them out to a lab.

We have a keyence VR series scanner that also has not been calibrated in 2 or 3 years.

I don't really know how we have been passing our audits for the last few years.

I'm pretty sure that all inspection equipment needs to be traceable to NIST. Is this correct?

If so, how can i make a compelling argument for sending our thread gages and master gage bocks out for calibration? Can a CMM be used to qualify master gage blocks?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Hello Roland and you are very welcome here. Everyone's been new, so don't fret, you're in good hands! Good question to start with!

It's amazing how little (some) ISO 9001 CB auditors actually know about how ISO 9001 requirements are supposed to work! Passing an audit is a low bar, to be honest.