1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Need help with small team structure

Discussion in 'AS 91XX - Aerospace Quality Standards' started by ISO9001TD, Jun 7, 2022.

1. ISO9001TD

ISO9001TD Member

Hello,

I am a new manager overseeing quality and compliance at an aerospace company. I have a small staff of only 3-4. Our small unit is responsible for ISO 9001/AS9100, DCMA, and DCAA audits and compliance. We also deal with CMMC and CMMI. I was thinking of assigning two of my auditors to handle ISO 9001/AS9100 (4 locations/factories), for the other two: one to handle all matters of CMMI and CMMC, and the other to handle all matters of DCMA and DCAA. Would this be a good department structure or no? Any advice or guidance helps.

thanks

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome ISO9001TD! Yours is a very real question and one with which many, if not all, people struggle - and there is ZERO training available for such an issue: How to Manage an Internal Audit Program. Until the time arrives when that is fixed, here are some things to consider:

Why is your staff (ONLY?) engaged in doing (internal) audits?
    Why don't the plant location's management take care/host the DCMA/DCAA auditors?
    Why separate CMMI from the ISO 9001/AS9100 audits - don't they share commonality?

I'd be concerned that any organization is looking to just one function - yours - to shoulder the audit burden. It's unwise and tells me a lot about where your leaderships' collective head is regarding the QMS etc.

Last edited: Jun 7, 2022
    John C. Abnet likes this.
  3. ISO9001TD

ISO9001TD Member

Do large factories typically have internal DCMA and DCAA auditors?