1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Best course of study for CQA re-test?

Discussion in 'Professional Certifications and Degrees' started by TommyB, Oct 11, 2021.

1. TommyB

TommyB New Member

Hello everyone.

I recently took the CQA exam and failed (Prometric remote testing).

I studied using an older CQA primer and a few online study courses. I thought I had done well so it was a bit frustrating.

Can anyone guide me towards the best material for studying? Are the prep courses on ASQ website any good? They are expensive but looking for any advice.

Thank you.

2. Jennifer Kirley

Jennifer Kirley Moderator Staff Member

Welcome TommyB!

I am sorry you did not pass your exam.

It has been some time since I served on the editors team for Certified Quality Inspector exams. Our first task as Editors was to take a copy of the exam into a room with all of the listed reference materials in the BOK, and find the answers to the questions. What I noticed then, as well as with the numerous exams I have taken (I failed the CQE exam once) was that - whether they meant it to or not - the ASQ Handbook for that subject was most often the best "hit" for the answer. I used the Primers at first, and decided that the Handbook make better resources because their indexes are better (the index is your friend!) and the Primer is too bulky for my taste. Turning those pages in the giant binders is a time consuming pain. I have found errors in them too.

I have found it helpful to take practice exams; research the questions in your resource(s). I have found I learn more when studying this way, versus just reading the material.

Other tips:

1) I have found it a waste to take more than three sources with me to the exams; they are too much to dig through on test day.