1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Operational Process Documentation

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2008 - Quality Management Systems' started by Vicki Sherlock, Nov 11, 2016.

1. Vicki Sherlock

Vicki Sherlock Member

Hello,

I'm new to quality forum so apologies if a thread like this exists already.

I work for a company which has had ISO 9001:2008 certification for 4 years now and during this time the company has grown significantly.

When we initially set up the management system we ensured that all the key operational departments kept a written training manual with all the key processes included for that department. For example our customer service team have a process of how quotation requests should be handled. These manuals were controlled by one individual within each department and this was updated when process changes occured.

Recently with the growth of the business and the number of process improvements being made we are finding that keeping these process manuals up to date and relevant is becoming a struggle.

With that we were wanting to know how other businesses 'documented' operational processes and ensured that they were updated when changes were made. We were considering the use of videos but this seems just as time consuming to update. What ways have others seen of keeping operational processes documented and updated?

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Vicki: Welcome! Before it's appropriate to answer, I'm sure that it would be useful to know more. I'm personally intrigued that you're finding it difficult to keep these documents up to date. Can you tell us more about what that situation is? Is the the detailed nature, the volume of changes, the frequency or what?

3. MCW8888

MCW8888 Well-Known Member