1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

ISO 9001:2015 Scope questions and others

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Chao Hsu, Oct 28, 2016.

1. Chao Hsu

Chao Hsu New Member

Hello all,

I am an ISO 27001 Lead Auditor, but I am new to ISO 9001:2015. I have purchased the standards, read through them a few times, but I still have some questions.

Background: I am with a diversified small 8(a) company in southern California, and my company has a number of government contracts delivering:
    (1) security systems (doors/alarms/CCTV/etc)
    (2) software solutions
    (3) IT services (help desk)
    (4) project management, design build, and some other consulting services

Here are the questions.
    1a. Can my company get just one product/service (say, security systems) or all products and services ISO 9001 certified?
    1b. If all products and services must meet ISO 9001 requirement, can we development just one set of common core quality documents (eg. quality objective, procedures, etc.), with appendices in details for all the products and services ?

2. What is the minimal training required? I know someone has to get training and certified as ISO 9001:2015 Lead or Internal Auditor, but any other training or roles? Can I do the ISO 9001 planning, then become an auditor to audit my own work?

3. Does my company have to get certified by a industry specific Certification Body? What would be the best way to get all the diversified business certified?

Thanks for any comment and suggestion.

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Hi and welcome to QFO!

The simple answers are: