1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Evidence, Level of Detail and Auditing Large Companies

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by jenks, Jul 19, 2016.

1. jenks

jenks Member

I'm completely new to the ISO 9001 world, and having a hard time wrapping my head around how to approach things for our company. I think understanding how auditing large companies and the evidence requirements and level of detail of the evidence will help me figure things out.

So lets say we have a large company with 100 locations, but very compact in that it only provides 3 key services in the IT consulting realm. Each of those locations may or may not provide all 3 of the services. Also, while even though our services are the same across the locations, the deliverables and 'evidence' of the service could change based on the clients. This compared to a product seems to be more ambiguous and hard to nail down the right level of detail.

In a very 10,000ft description, how would we be audited? I can't imagine you'd have to visit every location and get evidence of certain artifacts for each service at each location. Is there some sort of sampling rule that is used?

Thanks in advance!

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome! I think you're approaching this from the wrong end/perspective. You don't design product from the perspective of the chief QC inspector. You design to suit the user, taking into consideration, maybe, QC. If, as you say, you're having trouble "nailing down" deliverables, then your organization isn't in control of its processes and your "audit approach" to this will further confuse matters.