1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Controlling FMEA and Control Plan formats in ISO 9001 2008?

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2008 - Quality Management Systems' started by Qualmx, Dec 1, 2015.

1. Qualmx

Qualmx Well-Known Member

Hi all
    I'm new to TS 16949 and have some doubts
    As a reference , in ISO 9001 2008, regarding to external documents, I consider as such, ISO standards, ASME code, machinery manuals, etc. by that reason and I have control over them.

I have implemented ISO 9001 2008 and I'm adopted some practices from TS (FMEA and Control Plan), in order to be included in my system.

In my system, should be considered as external documents the FMEA and Control Plan formats?.
    As I understand they are formats developed by Ford.

Are they updated at certain time so that I have to look always for new versions?

I suppose I can't do some modifications to them and be considered as internal documents.

Please share your thoughts.

Thanks

2. Emmyd

Emmyd Member

If you haven't already, AIAG has some great books that provide the format for use in the FMEA & Control Plans. These are used by most all the OEM's, and most of them require that the format found in the AIAG FMEA & APQP manuals.
    Here is a link to the 5 pack of most commonly required manuals: http://www.aiag.org/products/products-list/product-details?ProductCode=CT5-K . You can also order them individually as well. Most of the time, after you order the books, they will send an email out to let you know of any updates to any of the manuals.
    Hope this helps!

3. Reluctance

Reluctance Member

We consider as external documents the reference materials that contain the original example FMEA and Control Plan forms.