1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

First time in 4 years helping a company pass an audit

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by claudiogut, Aug 12, 2019.

1. claudiogut

claudiogut Member

I'm an engineering consultant at an industrial distributor company and they recently asked me to help them navigate a third party audit. It's been what feels like forever since I helped a company do this and the third party is being very finicky about it. The company is already ISO 9001:2008 but don't have a quality resource on staff.

Their main areas that they need to improve are:

• We couldn’t see evidence of engineering resources dedicated to review drawings with customers and suppliers in order to make sure the parts comply.
    • We couldn’t see evidence a robust process for the following Quality Systems: 1) Receiving Inspection , 2) Corrective Actions 3) Calibration System. Evidence of Well Define KPI's is required.
    • We couldn't see evidence of a Robust Supplier Selection and Vendor Management Process. Also there wasn’t resources involved looking Supplier Quality & KPI Monitoring.
    • We Couldn’t see a Robust Process for Customer Complains and How Complains are Track and Taking Care.
    • We Couldn't see Evidence of a Robust Process for receiving inspection process in order to avoid any future issues with Critical Parts. Also, We couldn't see a Robust Corrective Action System able to track and resolve issues.
    Seems to me that these are minor issues that can easily be solved by hiring a quality control person, generating and implementing some good internal documentation and tracking communications, and emphasizing different types of inspections. Seems almost too easy. Am I missing something here?

2. Andy Nichols