1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Surveillance Audit

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Bill_jvrsshurricane, Feb 20, 2019.

1. Bill_jvrsshurricane

Bill_jvrsshurricane New Member

I am brand new to this process when it comes to being the one responsible for the QMS, etc. Last year we did all of our internal audits in February, the management review in early March and then the surveillance audit was done in late March. This year, our surveillance audit is in late March again. Does my management review and internal audits need to be done prior to the surveillance audit? I made up a schedule where the audits were to be done throughout the year, February through November so that we weren't rushing to get them done. Again, I am brand new to this and in need of some serious guidance. I appreciate any and all help on this. P.S. I was supposed to learn this over a period of 3 years but my boss found another job late last year and I am learning things as I go.

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome!

Firstly, what does your own QMS say about when you schedule these activities? If it's "one a year" minimum, then, yes, you'll be expected to do them once a year - to avoid an NC from your Certification Body.

Secondly, ISO 9001 doesn't say WHEN to do them, just that they should be planned. Management Review should be "fitted" to your business P. D. C. A. cycle, since much of what goes on in Management Review is also about PDCA...

Internal audits should NOT be done to just to some (arbitrary calendar) and there are good clues to when audits should be conducted: Based on importance (what are YOUR important processes?) and changes. Not all things need to be audited to the same frequency...

3. Golfman25