1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

What is an appropriate calibration weight for a 4 ton weigh scale

Discussion in 'ISO 17025 - Calibration and Test Laboratories' started by Talha Siddique, Aug 14, 2020.

1. Talha Siddique

Talha Siddique Member

Hi,

Hope you are doing well. I am an industrial engineer form Pakistan. I work as a production engineer. My question is:

1) What amount of calibration weight is necessary to calibrate a weigh scale with a maximum capacity of 4 ton?

2) Are there any relevant industry standards for this?

I am being told that i would need at least 1 ton of calibrated weights but that would be too expensive and impractical to carry out

I would be extremely thankful for a response

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2020
  2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome! What are you weighing and what accuracy/tolerance specification are you comparing the weight to? Do you need 4 tons +/- 0.5 tons, for example?

Talha Siddique likes this.
  3. Talha Siddique

Talha Siddique Member

We weigh paper reels, which typically weight around 1200 kg to 2000 kg. Our tolerance is +/- 2 kg.

4. Andy Nichols

Who is interested in the actual weight? Customers? Your management? Do you sell by weight or by length of paper?

5. Eric Twiname

Eric Twiname Well-Known Member

Paper rolls are by pound...I work in paper and plastic films these days.

My question would be the reliability of your tare weight (reel, core and wrap)...
    The folks I work with have more than 2Kg uncertainty in tare...so a weighing tolerance of 2Kg is down in the noise...