1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Central Composite Design (CCD)

Discussion in 'DOE - Design of Experiments' started by Extan, Sep 26, 2018.

1. Extan

Extan Member

Hello !

I would like to obtain response surface for a problem driven by 4 variables. Hence I defined 5 levels for each variables (-alpha;-1;0;+1;+alpha), and used a CCD approach.

However, the extremum of one variables(+alpha and -alpha) seem to degrade the results.

[​IMG]

I am fairly new to designs of experiment, and I would like to know the implications of only having 3 levels for 1 variable while having 5 levels for the others. Is the model still valid if I stay within the defined boundaries? Is there maybe a value or a set of values I can track to validate the model?

Any help is more than welcome =)

2. Miner

Miner Moderator Staff Member

Can you attach your data? We can provide a much better response without speculating.

3. Extan

Extan Member

Sure ! I uploaded and xlsx file, hopefully anyone can read it. It is a copy paste from Minitab18 CCD sheet if it can help.

The "*" means this simulation was not done, because the parameters were not realistics. Since the results come from a numerical simulation, all center points (0,0,0,0) have the same value.
    "A" is the parameter I have a problem with, so I woud like to remove simulation n° 21 and 22.

I can send you the minitab file if you want !

Thank you so much for spending time on my question !

Attached File(s): 1. Scan for viruses before using. 2. Report any 'bad' files by reporting this post. 3. Use at your own Risk.:

4. Extan

Extan Member