1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Is it an NC if Legal register contained outdated legislation?

Discussion in 'ISO 14001:2004 - Environmental Management Systems' started by Speran, Dec 25, 2016.

1. Speran

Speran Member

Hi all, I'm new to this standard. Could you please advise if during the audit it was found that legal register contained out dated pieces of legislation, would it be a non conformity and what clause it would relate to?
    Many thanks.
    Speran

2. tony s

tony s Well-Known Member

Normally, legal registers include old versions of regulations since there are laws where only part of them are amended and some, if not most, are retained. More importantly, organizations must ensure that evidence/s of compliance are maintained for applicable legal requirements. Though I don't consider such an issue an NC, auditors might tie this up to Clause 4.4.5g.

3. Speran

Speran Member

Thanks Tony. You are probably looking at it from the internal auditor perspective. What concerns me is how the CABs, third party auditors, look at this. Thank you

4. Jennifer Kirley

Jennifer Kirley Moderator Staff Member

The organization is required to identify legal and other requirements relevant to its operations. It of course is expected that current requirements be identified. Not doing so would typically result in nonconformance issued to 4.3.2 of ISO 14001:2004.

charanjit singh likes this.
  5. tony s

tony s Well-Known Member

IMHO, auditors whether internal or external should not have different perspective in determining conformance. They both use the same audit criteria and should draw out judgment and conclusion as advised by the same standard both internal and external auditors' used as reference i.e. ISO 19011.

Jennifer Kirley likes this.