1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

IRCA Lead Auditor Training - worthwhile? hints & tips? 3rd party auditor career move?

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2008 - Quality Management Systems' started by Englishman Abroad, Jul 13, 2016.

1. Englishman Abroad

Englishman Abroad Member

All,

I am thinking of taking the IRCA lead auditor training. Considering the (personal) financial investment (my company will not pay...), what is you opinion about whether it is worthwhile?

Do you have any hints and tips regarding the training, exam, and preparation?

(My background is a total of 20 yrs in Automotive, about 7 in various quality roles.)

Eventually I am contemplating a carreer move to qualify as a 3rd party auditor; Do you have any advice?

Thanks

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Yes! Setting the qualification aside for now (I'd go with the Excel/Bywater course) research your CB options very carefully. The life of a 3rd party auditor is made or broken by the way the CB operates, including refunding expenses and so on. Look at their customer satisfaction/retention. Look at their training/requalification and so on. Don't forget that being through the LA course, just makes you "canon fodder" and some will hire you, even without experience of CB audits but not pay you, as you're "not qualified"...(while you get experience). Your call how you arrange it, but these are issues you may wish to consider. I was offered jobs and, initially, I had to fund my travel etc. So the CB was going to make money off me!

3. Glenn0004

Glenn0004 Member