1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Minimum Required Procedures

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Steven Penney, Apr 20, 2016.

1. Steven Penney

Steven Penney Member

Hi, my background is in ISO 9001:2008. I remember there were a minimum of 6 required procedures, and of course you would add additional as you felt were required. In transitioning to 2015, are these 6 procedures still the minimum required? Or have several been combined? Thanks in advance. Steve

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Steve, if you don't have a copy of the new standard, you're in for a surprise! No required documented procedures! It's up to the organization to decide, through understanding of:
    • The context of the organization
    • Needs of interested parties
    • Internal and external issues
    It shouldn't be, therefore, too difficult to determine what documentation is required to address these things, (not procedures, per se)

Steven Penney likes this.
  3. tony s

tony s Well-Known Member

According to the ISO 9001:2015 Annex A.6, if the 2008 version used "documented procedures", "quality manual" or "quality plan", the 2015 now defines requirements to "maintain documented information". In addition, the term "records" is now expressed as a requirement to "retain documented information".

Here's a matrix of the 2015's clauses that define requirements for documented information that is mandatory and as necessary to maintain or retain:
    upload_2016-4-21_8-30-46.png

MCW8888, Kina Yahaya, kedar and 5 others like this.
  4. Steven Penney

Steven Penney Member