1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

QA (real world) manufacturing issues

Discussion in 'Coffee Break and Community Discussion Forum' started by Pelasgus, Oct 14, 2022.

1. Pelasgus

Pelasgus Member

We could call this a discussion of 'How to circumvent the quality system' to realize greater advantage.

The primary reason we learned how to build defects into automotive products during the time that I worked in manufacturing was because managers decided that building the defective parts was the lesser of the evils, considering all their options.

Construction of products requires a myriad of operations, any one of which has the potential to compromise the parts passing through it. Almost all defective parts begin with a manager’s decision to allow defective subassemblies to be passed on to production and the primary reason for that decision is department efficiency.

Corporate production managers who falter in the efficiency of their responsibilities are typically chastised and their bonuses are reduced so they have an incentive to go to extreme lengths in assuring that assigned quotas are met. When these decisions are made, the hourly production workers are duly disgusted but they have little effect in assuring quality of the end product.

I’ll offer an example from those that I’ve seen firsthand to represent these typical issues.