1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Audit Categories

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Rich_65, Jul 12, 2022.

1. Rich_65

Rich_65 New Member

I'm new to ISO and can see we three possible Audit Categories listed in an audit report.

Major / Minor / CFA

Whilst I think Major/Minor might be somewhat self explanatory, I'm struggling to work out what CFA means.

The person internally I could ask is off on leave at present. Could someone assist with a definition/explanation?

Many thanks

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Rich, welcome to QFO and welcome to "ISO".

Let's talk about types of audit, before we discuss "grading". What type of audit are you discussing? Internal, Supplier? Certification? Regulatory?

3. Rich_65

Rich_65 New Member

Hi Andy,

It's an Internal Audit.

4. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Ok, that helps. Traditionally, external audits have attracted a grading system to help justify the actions taken in follow up to the audit. This might be non/approval of suppliers, non/certification to ISO 9001 etc.

Internal audits - in my 40 years of experience - need no such grading system because there's no similar justification needed. The "gravity" or significance of any internal audit finding is conveyed through the description of the non-conformity or summary report(s). Simply checking a box "Major", "minor" or something else is counterproductive, experience shows.