1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Transforming Current QMS

Discussion in 'AS 91XX - Aerospace Quality Standards' started by ISO9001TD, Jun 15, 2022.

1. ISO9001TD

ISO9001TD Member

Hi Everyone,

I need your advice. I am a new senior manager with an aerospace defense company. We have a very small QMS team of only 4 including me. We are responsible for ISO 9001 and AS 9100 quality audits, regulatory compliance, DCMA and DCAA, CMMI, and CMMC. We oversee 4 factories around the US. My goal is to do more with less instead of less with less. I want to implement force multipliers that will allow my small team to be high performing and effective. Above all, I need to transform our current QMS into a high-performing and effective system including an effective team structure.

Here is my plan:

1. Staff member "A" will be assigned as the "lead" quality auditor. Staff member "B" will be an auditor (not a lead). Both will be assigned two locations each, both will be responsible for any and all matters concerning ISO 9001 and AS 9100 at their assigned locations including any other locations (i.e., admin offices). These two will also manage CMMI as well. Staff member "C" will be assigned to oversee any and all matters concerning DCMA, DCAA, and CMMC. Each staff will be cross-trained. All staff will be given authority and the support they need to make decisions and carry out the continuous improvement.