1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Requesting Input on CAR

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by MikeR, Jan 20, 2022.

1. MikeR

MikeR Member

Hello,
    I'm new to the AS/ISO world and would love to hear some feedback from folks who've been around this block a few times.
    I'm working on a CAR that was issued to our company for parts we shipped that still had burrs on the thread.
    The work in progress is below:

Root Cause of Discrepancy:
    This was challenging to determine because the non-conforming parts were manufactured approximately 2 years ago.
    However, after reviewing all available data we believe the following to be a root cause:
    A system flaw with the Shop Floor Control System (SFCS) (There was no warning to an operator who completed a sequence short of the WO quantity).

*Additional contributing causes may have been operator miss-communication.
    Work order records confirm that these 2 jobs of 529 pcs and 628 pcs were split up and deburred by two different operators and the jobs ran over a period of 5 - 7 days each.
    In this scenario, it is not difficult to imagine that a stack or 2 of trays that one operator might have thought was completed, actually was not.

2 i) help Immediate action to prevent further non-conformances and Containment:
    There is no standing inventory @ company and all parties involved have been notified.
    ii) help Corrective Action to prevent recurrence of root cause:
    The SFCS has been replaced.
    If a sequence is completed in the new ERP with a quantity less than the WO qty, the system requires the operator to either acknowledge this shortage or investigate what happened.

*Additional communication exercises will be conducted during daily training.