1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

LTPD and interpretations.

Discussion in 'Sampling, Standards and Inspection' started by JeremyQ2022, Jan 7, 2022.

Tags:
  1. JeremyQ2022

JeremyQ2022 New Member

Hi, I am a undergraduate student currently enrolled in introduction to statistic.

I am confused about the LTPD and its relationship between defect rate and sample size.

For example, the LTPD table shows that, with 90% CL, c=0 (accepting zero defect), a sample size n=15 has a maximum defect rate of 15%, and a sample size n=24 has a maximum defect rate of 10%.

Question 1: is it correct to interpret this defect rate with respect to sample size as following:

a. With a sample size of 15, I am 90% confidence that I can detect a failure if the failure rate is 15% or higher.

b. With a sample size of 15, I am 90% confidence that I can detect a failure if the failure rate is 10% or higher.

Therefore, the more sample I have, the more rare a defect I can detect.

Question 2: assuming I am running a test with a sample size of 30, and I detect a problem with one unit. The defect rate for this particular problem is then: 1 / 30 = 0.033 or 3.3%.
    Am I really lucky to be able to detect 3.3% defect rate with only 30 samples?

Thank you

2. Bev D

Bev D Moderator Staff Member

LTPD is the defect rate that will be detected (and the lot REJECTED) 90% of the time that defect rate is present.
    Stated another way there is a 10% probability that a lot with the LTPD defect rate will be ACCEPTED.

3. JeremyQ2022

JeremyQ2022 New Member