1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Gage R&R according to customer spec

Discussion in 'Gage R&R and MSA - Measurement Systems Analysis' started by laffranchinis, Sep 10, 2020.

1. laffranchinis

laffranchinis Member

Hi Everybody,

I am a rookie in MSA. I just run few of them (both internal and for customers) but I still have some doubts regarding the correct way to run a Gage R&R when we have a tolerance given by our customers, and I hope you can help me to dissolve these doubts.
    Here below two approaches to run a MSA:

1) Sample selection: samples taken on purpose over the entire tolerance field given by customer.
    --> We consider the %Study Var to assess if the Measurement System is OK for the intended application.

2)sample selection: random from our process. In Minitab we will insert manually the customer tolerances.
    --> We consider %Tolerance to asses if the Measurement System is OK for the intended application.

Which one is a more correct approach? With the first case, for some processes, oft is very difficult to prepare samples scattered over the entire tolerance field given by the customer.

BR
    Samuele

2. Miner

Miner Moderator Staff Member

Samuele,

Neither one is correct. First decide how the gage will be used (inspection to a tolerance, SPC or both).

If the gage will be used for inspection to a tolerance, you may select the parts as you wish, because the variation of the parts will not affect the results of the correct metric, which is % Tolerance. Ignore % Study Variation and ndc, because they are irrelevant in this case.