1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

P/T ratio vs GRR - which is more meaningful and why?

Discussion in 'Gage R&R and MSA - Measurement Systems Analysis' started by isepals, Apr 29, 2020.

1. isepals

isepals New Member

I am an undergraduate currently studying Quality engineering. My question is as follows:

Performance to Tolerance (P/T) ratio uses σ
    _R&R / (USL - LSL) as an estimate of a gauge capability while GRR method uses σ_R&R / σ_total where σ_total is given by sqrt[(σ_R&R )^2 + (σ_product) ^2].

Which estimate/method (P/T ratio or GRR) gives a more meaningful estimate of the performance of a gauge? As an extension, which is more stringent? Any responses appreciated.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2020
  2. Eric Twiname

Eric Twiname Well-Known Member

Howdy, and welcome to QFO!

Depends: What "meaning" are you looking for?
    If you are trying to convince a customer product engineer that your measurement system is adequate for their part to work, P/T ratio.
    If you're trying to answer most auditors, or a customer SQE that knows nothing of the part...GRR.
    If you're trying to answer correctly on an undergrad test...whatever the professor says is right.

Depends:
    If the tolerance is less than
    P/T ratio is more stringent.

If tolerance is greater, then GRR is more stringent.
    In every case I've ever seen, GRR is more stringent.

FWIW, out in the field I've never heard of P/T ratio...both methods are called "GRR", and only those who have an academic interest or are trying to show off for someone will ask which method was used.

tony s, Andy Nichols and isepals like this.
  3. isepals

isepals New Member

Hello! thanks for the welcome, what a great community here. Insightful response, really appreciate it. Thanks again!