1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Understanding the difference between ISO 13485 and 21 CFR 820

Discussion in 'ISO 13485 and ISO 14969 – Medical Devices QMS' started by Mike Bodine, Jan 25, 2017.

1. Mike Bodine

Mike Bodine New Member

Hi All,

I'm just learning about quality systems and regulations and I'm hoping you can help me understand the difference between ISO 13485 and 21 CFR 820. Is this an accurate way to state the similarities/differences?

"Based on ISO 9001, ISO 13485 is an international standard that places emphasis on management reviews, process and design control in manufacturing, documentation, and the review of corrective actions and preventative actions (CAPA). Applicable only for products made in or imported to the United States, 21 CFR 820 is a more stringent requirement that is similar to ISO 13485 with more of a focus on monitoring and measuring the performance of products, labeling, and traceability."

Thanks in advance!!

2. Vintage Goose

Vintage Goose Active Member

Hi Mike

You are correct in saying that 21CFR820 only applies to products made in or imported into US. However I would not say the regulation iitself is more stringent than ISO13485. It is the inspection process by FDA that is more stringent. (There is a very good comparison by of ISO and 21CFR820 by Ed Kimmelman, which shows that in most cases, the differences are minimal.)