1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Support Process Definition Document

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by lukeb, Apr 11, 2017.

1. lukeb

lukeb New Member

Hi all,

I am relatively new to a business and the standard and they are wanting to implement ISO 9001:2015. We are a small manufacturing cnc company with around 30 employees and 4 managers. Now our understanding is that Processes have to be defined and we have set on Business development, purchasing, production and inspection and shipping as our 4 core processes. In our review we have identified support processes such as internal audits, management review etc...do each of these have to be documented with their own process definition with inputs and outputs and related risks etc?

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the new and exciting world of Quality Management Systems.

To be very open, in response to you question, it's up to you - the management team - to decide what needs to be documented. If you consider the section 4 requirements, including customers (interested party) and internal (employee) needs, you might conclude that they would like things to be written down. Practically speaking, you might also conclude that some things are very well understood by the people who do the work that it's not necessary to document somethings, but others - like the process for internal audits - should be, because you don't have the knowledge to do them (unless you hire someone who has 35 years experience of doing them!)