1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Gauge R&R for standard measuring instruments- calipers, micrometers...

Discussion in 'APQP and PPAP' started by Sundance, Aug 31, 2016.

1. Sundance

Sundance Member

I've been a Quality Manager for many years in the precision machining industry, a relatively low volume production environment. Ten months ago I executed a career shift into a high volume production industry where our 70K sq. ft. facility with a total head count of about 70 people ships in excess of 10 million units per month.

My introduction and acclamation to statistical methods and activities has been fast & furious. I've since been immersed in all manner of APQP/PPAP activities and have a question about Gage R&R requirements.

Since I've been here I've been told that Gage R&R studies are generally reserved for part or feature specific gauges that have been specially designed and developed for that purpose, but not for standard measuring instruments such as calipers, micrometers, indicators or other equipment used for general measuring purposes that are regularly monitored through a calibration recall system.

I've been recently instructed by a customer perform Gauge R&R studies for such standard equipment and it makes little sense to me for multiple reasons. Am I wrong in thinking that performing Gauge R&R studies on these types of instruments will have little or no "value added" impact?

S1D3K1CK likes this.
  2. Miner

Miner Moderator Staff Member