1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Quality Procedures and Signatures

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2008 - Quality Management Systems' started by Brian Chandler, Aug 4, 2016.

1. Brian Chandler

Brian Chandler New Member

Hello all,

I am new to the Quality world as of last year and found this site very helpful in the past so I thought id come back now that I have some experience and questions. We have grown a lot and I fear the old way we have does not work well nor is it efficient.

Question 1. Signatures

In addition to the document owner and the approved by sections we have a "trainee" section for each procedure who signs off on each respected procedure. This means, we have 20 "floor guys" (30 in another location) singing off on each procedures they are held accountable for. Is this normal to gather signatures? Is there another way to go about this and still show they have read and agreed to those procedures?

Question 2 : Internal Auditors

We have opened up another location across the country and I would like someone in that facility to do internal audits. What training and/or certificates does he need to be able to do this? The standards says we need show evidence that the auditor is competent but says nothing about certificates etc etc.

Last edited: Aug 4, 2016
  2. RoxaneB

RoxaneB Moderator Staff Member

It's probably easier for smaller companies to collect and maintain signatures. For larger organizations, electronic signatures can be used. It also depend, I suppose, on how they're being trained. Face to face, classroom training would probably lead to signatures whereas reading documents online could use an email acceptance as a signature (if the employees have email).