1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

ISO9001 Help

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Martin, Jan 5, 2016.

1. Martin

Martin New Member

Hello,

I'd like to introduce myself and hopefully get some guidance. I'm a recent engineering grad and was hired a month ago as a catch-all "project engineer" at a small manufacturer (17 employees). One of my tasks is to ultimately implement ISO9001:2015 but I’m faced with the challenge of not fully understanding the company’s procedures/policies, as well as, knowing very little of ISO9001. At times this feels like a herculean task.

Our company manufactures custom sensors for refineries so our clients (Shell, Saudi Aramco, etc) usually require a qms and many layers of documentation. They often ask for our ISO9001 certification and we explain that we have an “ISO9001 equivalency program”.

In 2005 the company hired a consultant to help implement ISO9001. He produced a quality manual for us but to me it seems like the standard regurgitated with our company name stuck in there. The company never took up any of the policies required by ISO9001:2000 and it fell by the wayside. The employees felt the documentation requirements to be burdensome and not in line with what the company needed. The quality manual though is still sent to customers asking for our qms documentation (along with some other cobbled together docs).

The good news is that upper management is completely on board with implementation even if it requires substantial changes or costs. So far, I have purchased the FDIS and read/skimmed it. I have also done quite a bit of online reading about ISO9001, trying to wrap my head around the requirements and what my path forward should be.

Some preliminary questions for you: