1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Internal Audit Depth

Discussion in 'IATF 16949:2016 - Automotive Quality Systems' started by Andrew Lee, Jul 6, 2020.

1. Andrew Lee

Andrew Lee New Member

Hi all,

I'm just beginning to conduct internal audits for my company and wanted to get an idea of how thorough other people are with this. For example, I'm going to investigate our contingency plans (IATF 6.1.2.3) and the section has subsections a-g. Would you investigate all of these requirements?

Keep in mind, I'm not a dedicated auditor. The auditors here have primary roles and do the audits as a secondary task. And the plant is extremely large so not all processes can be covered. It seems to me that something like contingency plans would require talking to many people (process engineers, safety managers, even plant managers) to evaluate all the subset requirements.

How do you guys go about checking something like this?

Thanks

2. qmr1976

qmr1976 Well-Known Member

If items a-g are preceded by the word 'shall', you need to make sure your company is compliant with them. Having said that, we are a very small company and I can tell you that although our contingency plan is reviewed during management review, only one person is really responsible or takes ownership of the procedure and makes sure the testing of the contingency plans take place. (Contingency simulations)

3. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member