1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Material certification and traceability requirements

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Kodirl, Apr 20, 2020.

1. Kodirl

Kodirl Member

Hi everyone.

I'm looking for some advice here. I work in Construction and want to know what are the expectations of a subcontractor in respect to material certification and traceability requirements.

The company I work for carries out installations using equipment and materials manufactured and supplied by others (suppliers) We are an electrical contractor and examples of our installations include;

1-Cable ladder rack installation-material is purchased by ourselves from supplier for installation
    2-Cable installation-various types and specifications purchased by ourselves based on clients specifications for installation.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

2. John C. Abnet

John C. Abnet Well-Known Member

Good day @Kodirl and welcome to the site.
    This is a question your organization will need to answer. In clause 8.5.2 ISO 9001 leaves it to the organization to determine required and applied traceability. Clause 8.5.2 uses the terms "when it is necessary" and "when traceability is a requirement".

In regards to material certs, similar language is used by the standard. Clause 8.4 your organization to ensure suppliers provide conforming product. Does the confirmation of material certs provided upon delivery give your organization the information needed to ensure "externally provided...products conform to requirements"?...(or does your organization have/utilize other methods to confirm that ?)

Consider this: