1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

NCR defined?

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Wade S, Feb 18, 2020.

1. Wade S

Wade S New Member

I have been a Quality Assurance professional for over 23 years in various industries from environmental, high speed fabrication, engineering, Oil &Gas owners, infrastructure and petrochemical and there have been many constants throughout my career despite the workplaces I have been......at least until now.

A few months ago I recently started engaging with our new facilities being built in Ontario and have come across a very different interpreation of what constitutes a non-conformance.

Several contractors and even some of my non-QA colleauges in Ontario beleive if a fabrication or construction NCR occurs
    AND that if it can be corrected before being turned over to their client that an NCR condition does not exist and therefore requires no NCR record. I am not referring to work in progress where for example a welder realizes he has a bad weld and is able to correct the issue in advance of a formal NDT/NDE QC process. This subject is about true proven, backed up with evidence NCR conditions.

So my question: Have others run into this contractor beleif and what have you done to address this "NCR difference of opinion"?

Last edited: Feb 18, 2020
  2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome!
    Of course, if it's not measured, they don't have to get real about it. Someone should be measuring the extra time it takes to correct these issues. Cost is the key. Ask the finance people if they know why money is being lost...

John C. Abnet likes this.
  3. Wade S

Wade S New Member