1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Revising a drawing to eliminate a nonconformance

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by RPNYVB, Feb 15, 2020.

1. RPNYVB

RPNYVB Member

This is my first post (in any forum not related to cars/trucks). I'm a quality engineer by day, and an issue has come up at work that I'd sure be interested in hearing outside opinions on.

When a nonconformance exists on a production part, we all know a nonconformance record should be created to control the nonconforming material. If the nonconformance is considered to be acceptable as is, a Use-As-Is disposition is proposed. In some instances, however, at my place of employment, instead of proposing a use-as-is disposition, the nonconforming part waits while a drawing change is processed to make the engineering definition match (or at least tolerate) the nonconforming characteristic. Then the nonconformance record is closed, cancelled, or dispositioned as "rework."

I am opposed to this method, and I think it is not in accordance with the intent of the QMS; however, I cannot find anything that specifically states it can't be done. My take is that the part should be held to the released engineering at the time of its manufacture. Thoughts?

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member

Welcome! I've faced this exact situation all too frequently. Engineering put dimensions on drawings which cannot always be capably manufactured. I see no reason not to do what's being implemented, as long as the drawing change is made formally (ECO/ECN) and the disposition should be recorded, "use-as-is" with a reference to the ECO/ECN number.

3. RPNYVB

RPNYVB Member