1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

New fish in a big pond

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Chemist Bob, Nov 5, 2019.

1. Chemist Bob

Chemist Bob Member

Hello all, my name is Bob, real name actually, and I'm a new fish to the big pond called quality assurance. In all honesty I'm a little over my head and I'm hoping this forum will help guide me to what I need to figure out.

So some background I'm a chemist at a small manufacturing company which is part of a larger life sciences company. A job opening appeared for a Quality Assurance Manager and I applied for the job thinking it was a long shot. I had limited QA experience but big ideas of what needed fixed in the company so they took a shot on me.

So I didn't know the can of worms that I had opened, as this position had been created and we didn't have anyone doing it before. We are ISO 9001:2015 but a lot of our stuff is everywhere being handled by 5+ different people all doing things there own way. My duties so far have been 1st to find a QMS that can handle complaints, CAPA's, document control, equipment maintenance, supplier systems, and much more. 2nd my direct supervisor wants me to get a better understanding of iso audits and what auditors will be looking for and thus wants me to take a Lead Auditor Course. 3rd is to get one of our other sites ready to change over from 9001:2008 to 9001:2015 as they never did the change over when they were required to. Many more to follow but those are my 6 month goals.

So as you can see I have my work cut out for me and any advice you could give to help point me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Chemist Bob

2. Andy Nichols

Andy Nichols Moderator Staff Member