1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

What is the best way to approach risk management for our company?

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Nikki, Sep 25, 2015.

1. Ronen E

Ronen E Well-Known Member

I mentioned ISO 14971, which mentions FMEA. As I wrote, it's comprehensive.

BradM likes this.
  2. BradM

BradM Moderator Staff Member

Nikki,
    I'm not really an expert in the ISO9001 risk management like the others here. I just thought I would give some general thoughts.

Imagine you're driving down the road and your car starts acting funny. You'll pull over to the side of the road. What do you do?
    Do you call a significant other? Why? Can they fix it? A wrecker? Do you have AAA? Is the car in warranty? Do you have to contact the mfg.?

Basically, you would need to have a gameplan: If this occurs, here is what I will do.

I would engaga all the individuals in your Supply Chain, starting from Raw Materials to shipping finished goods to a distribution warehouse. It's asking What if, and assessing the associated risk. Then, your organization either has a game plan, or accepts the risk and will deal with it when it comes up.

I'm in Texas; getting hit by a tornado better be in business Risk Management plans. However, in other states where such natural disasters occur are low, there might be less of a plan.

hogheavenfarm, MCW8888 and Nikki like this.
  3. MCW8888

MCW8888 Well-Known Member

The Resource has a link to a Risk Planner which is based on ISO31000. That might be a start.
    We are using Bow Tie for HSSE so all I need to do is add an element of Quality.

BradM likes this.
  4. tony s

tony s Well-Known Member