1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

Role of Machinists in In-Process Inspection in Job Shop

Discussion in 'Manufacturing and Related Processes' started by Steven Severt, Nov 12, 2018.

1. Steven Severt

Steven Severt Member

I currently work for a small machine shop that is part of a much larger corporation. Our shop started as a small company and was eventually purchased by the larger corporation, but, even though we are owned by this larger company, we still operate very much like the small machine shop that we started out as.

Our company has very little in regards to a Quality department. We have me - who joined the company in March as the QA Engineer - and one other person who has the role of the final inspector. My background is in automotive in mass production shops, so I'm used to having a large Quality department with several Quality Engineers, Quality Service Technicians, and QC Inspectors. In that environment, QC Inspectors and/or QS Technicians would be checking parts periodically as well as the first piece or each run after a model change, with very little dimensional inspection happening by an operator, but here we have skilled machinists who are primarily doing their in-process inspection on the inspection sheets that are created by our department or Engineering.