1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

No quality system exists in small company! – implementing ISO 9001

Discussion in 'ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management Systems' started by Lost-sock, Sep 20, 2017.

1. Lost-sock

Lost-sock New Member

I find myself in the situation that I am working for a small company and then have nothing in place at all. They do not even have a system that conforms in any way to ISO 9000 so basically, I am starting from zero. I have 2 years’ experience as a quality engineer 10 years ago doing supplier audits and supporting production and resolving supplier quality issues and 20 years’ experience as an engineering.

I need recommendation of books or resources I can refer to that will assist me on how to approach implementing ISO 9001 in this small company from scratch! I will have to have to do everything from looking at the company structure, working out the processes, writing the quality manual and writing all procedures etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. Colin Pitman

Colin Pitman Member

3. hogheavenfarm

hogheavenfarm Well-Known Member

Actually you are in a really great position. I think it is much easier to start from scratch than try to modify the framework of an existing system, provided you do it correctly from the start! You are already on the right track and your SQA experience will go a long way as the basics have not really changed that much. Take your time and do it right, there is lots of help here.

4. Lost-sock

Lost-sock New Member

Thanks for the reply. That will be a good text to refer to for ISO 9001:2015 and I have been working with previous version of the standard so that is not so new to me.

The bit I am finding tricky is:

• Defining the processes that exist in the organisation