1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
You must be a registered member in order to post messages and view/download attached files in this forum.
Click here to register.

New Quality Manager looking for advice and support!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Colin Pitman, Sep 10, 2017.

1. Colin Pitman

Colin Pitman Member

Hi all,

I've recently been made Quality Manager at my work - and I've got virtually no quality experience! I got the job because the last QM retired, and his assistant became QM, only for the assistant to then leave in quick succession because he found work nearer to his home (1.5 hour commute - I couldn't blame him). The hunt was on and it was highly desirable for us to recruit internally. I was asked because I have lots of product knowledge and systems/process knowledge, and after some negotiating I accepted the offer.

We are a sub-contract EMS (Electronics Manufacturing Service) based in Crawley in the UK, and our customer base is medical, oil/gas, transport, and cyber-security. Our main output is populated PCB (Printed Circuit Boards) assemblies, however we also have a wiring shop where we can build these PCBs into finished equipment should this be the customer requirement.

I am currently attending several BSI training courses on 9001 and 13485, and have a transitional audit coming up in October. We are already compliant to 2008, but will be the first time we'll be audited to the 2015 standard.

I just wanted to say hi before I post a couple of specific questions I have in hopefully the right section.

Thanks,

Colin.

NattyG likes this.
  2. Qualmx

Qualmx Well-Known Member

Is very short time for you to understand the system, and pass the audit in the appropiate manner.
    I, ll suggest, to hire a consultant for this job.
    Maybe you could do it alone, But need full time and Will have some risks.